Readers Advisory – What to Read Next

Looking for a good book or the next book in a series?

There is no shortage of resources to help you find your next read so I have tried to narrow down the choices and provide a brief description. As always if you have a suggestion please don’t hesitate to email us.
Ebsco database logo

Ebscohost Log in with your 6 digit library card number and choose Novelist for K-8 or Novelist for everyone else.


A fantastic site to browse is Library Book Lists:

This site lists titles organized by audience, genre and topics. Some examples are Romance, Travel fiction, Westerns and Christian fiction. The site still includes the original lists of Crime/Mystery fiction organized into themes such as:  Murder by Toaster: Mysteries, suspense novels, thrillers, and crime novels in which relatively or usually harmless items are employed as effective murder weapons.  What more can I say other than you have to see for yourself. Have fun!

For a list of More Book Lists including Awards click here. (not yet active)

Have a question regarding series fiction?

Check out What’s Next®: Books in Series Database of Kent District Library.

FictFact is a membership organization but you don’t have to join to use it. You can search by author, series or genre.

Readers Advisory through Social Media

These are online social media sites where you can catalog your personal library or simply list books you have read, want to read, write reviews and Most Importantly SHARE with friends or the whole world. You decide. Think of them like Facebook for readers, that connect people according to the books they read.  There used to be more choices of sites but as larger companies swallow up smaller ones and consolidate it looks like the two currently most popular services are:

LibraryThing:

I think LibraryThing (LT) was one of the first, if not the first online book-cataloging App launched in 2005 by Tim Spaulding in Portland Maine. It’s Local!  I first used it to catalog a small rural library collection, and in doing so had a lot of conversations with the good folks at LT to help me understand how to go about it. Maybe the most important quality is that LT is linked via Z39.50 connections to over can 500 libraries including Library of Congress, which makes downloading accurate meta data super easy.

LT is slightly more difficult to use than Goodreads but very powerful. I especially like the graphic interface for catalogers and browsers alike. Unlike Goodreads, you can use LT to catalog books, music and movies.

To learn more about LibraryThing check out their blog What makes LibraryThing LibraryThing? and/or their Zeitgeist page: https://www.librarything.com/zeitgeist

Learn about LibraryThing for Libraries.

The other, maybe more popular and easy to use social media site for readers is Goodreads:  I think of Goodreads as a lightweight, less geeky group of folks who read, comment and share reviews.   Metadata comes primarily from Amazon because they own Goodreads.

I personally use both. I use LibraryThing to catalog my personal library and Goodreads to create lists of what I have read, want to read and share with friends.  With either service your lists are available where ever you are, and both can link directly to your FaceBook account.  Their mobile apps come in handy since I can never seem to remember the author or title of a book when I most need to.

Whichbook. This site offers suggestions based on your mood first, as well as character, plot, etc.

Gnooks. This site is not exclusively for books — it also contains categories for movies and music — but the literature map is a distinct feature. Type in an author’s name, and a scattered list of relevant author names will appear, with those most closely aligned with the original author’s style or genre closest in proximity.

Goodreads Apps for Android and Apple 

Library Thing App for Apple

Check them out and choose what suits you best or use both.  In ether event have fun and share the joy!

 

Especially for children

bookhivelogoIn 1999 the Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg County launched the award winning Bookhive readers advisory service for children ages birth through twelve, their parents, teachers or anyone interested in reading about children’s books. The site contains hundreds of recommended book reviews in a variety of reading levels and interest areas. Users can search for books by author, title, reading level, interest area, number of pages, and even favorite illustrator.


bestofbestyalsa
YALSA Best of the Best list of books for Teens and Young Adults